Exercise 1-6 "impossible deduced bounds" presolve error

Hi, I am new to AMPL and have started the AMPL handbook and just finished the first chapter: Production Models - Maximizing Profits. I was doing the exercises and was stumped when I came to the last one (1-6), i.e. the oil refining process one.

I get the following error:

presolve, variable Barrels_Product_Made['HF']:
impossible deduced bounds: lower = 3.41477, upper = 0.303303;
difference = 3.11147

presolve, variable Barrels_Product_Made['D']:
impossible deduced bounds: lower = 11.724, upper = 0.303303;
difference = 11.4207

presolve, variable Barrels_Product_Made['RG']:
impossible deduced bounds: lower = 18.3945, upper = 3.52326;
difference = 14.8712

presolve, variable Barrels_Product_Made['PG']:
impossible deduced bounds: lower = 19.1484, upper = 3.36667;
difference = 15.7817

presolve: constraint Intermediate_For_Products['B'] cannot hold:
body >= 370 cannot be <= 6.88992; difference = 363.11

I think it’s probably due to the way I am entering the data for Ujk, i.e. “maximum allowed units of attribute k per barrel of final product j”. In sub-section (c) of the exercise, it gives the values for the attribute limits and also says this: “Limits left blank, such as density for gasoline, are irrelevant and may be set to some relatively large number.”. I tried giving Infinity, 99999, etc. for them, but the error persists.

Any help on this would be appreciated? Thanks.

For the limits left blank, a large value like 99999 should work. The error might be somewhere else in the data file — can you reply with the data file attached? (Use the “Upload” icon.)

exercise.1.6.c.dat (954 Bytes)
exercise.1.6.c.mod (2.8 KB)

I have uploaded both the model and data files. Also, I changed the research octane to a negative large number. But the same error persists.